Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive
Sector Retail

Harnessing Local Search For Sofa Workshop



The brief

Sofa Workshop have 14 branches. Their main goal is to maximise footfall to these stores. With the advent of Google’s new local search algorithm, we needed to ensure they ranked highly for sofa related terms.

Using our expertise, we created a local search strategy and executed it – leading to absolutely fantastic results.

Download the full case study here

Sofa Workshop Stores

Results

  • Sofa Workshop’s core local London rankings are at an all time high
  • The branches around the country are ranking extremely well too
  • We increased local traffic by 126%

Since Render Positive took control of our online marketing we’ve been delighted with the results. They don’t apply a one-hat-fits-all approach, but tackle our specific needs creatively. We are in an extremely competitive environment with several competitors having significantly larger budgets, but thanks to them we’re holding our own. Always pro-active and happy to work with our other providers. And they actually offer intelligent responses to our requests!

Paul Staden, Marketing Director, Sofa Workshop


Here's how we did it!


1

Building a local presence

  • Registering the Google listings for each store – making each profile complete, interesting, attractive and useful to establish a strong local brand
  • Building out those listings to include as much local data as possible, including optimising photos for each location, to get the maximum local search benefits
  • Linking each profile to the corresponding page on sofaworkshop.com, generating the local snippet in organic search – enabling Sofa Workshop to compete in local search results
  • Ensuring we aim to get as many positive reviews as possible by training in house staff to request positive reviews


2

Reflecting this on site

  • To get the best results in both organic and local search each business location needs to have its own unique web page optimised and linked to your Google+ Local listing.
  • This was one area where we really helped Sofa Workshop – and where many retailers fall well short. There are plenty of small details and minor technical factors which together make a huge difference.


3

Citations

  • Citations are a reference to your business’ name, address & phone number – and are a critical local ranking factor
  • We built citations in the best directories, understanding the ecosystem and how they feed into each other
  • Citations must be consistent across the web so some data correction & discovery was required at first

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…