Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive
Sector Radio Station

Maximising Reach Online for Absolute Radio



The brief

We were tasked with promoting Ian Wright’s Absolute Radio show Rock ‘n’ Roll Football using social media during Euro2012.

It’s a popular show, but Absolute Radio wanted to maximise their reach to football fans during this key time. They were specific about targeting London as a key market, and extra engagement on social media as well as visits to their website were the main KPIs.

They had a big name on board, but little cut-through in a suddenly crowded market. Our task was to change that. And just to make it really interesting, they gave us just 20 days to deliver everything.

What we did

We carried out comprehensive research to find relevant blogs and influencers talking about football, identifying established blogs and Twitter as the two main channels we would use to push our campaign. We wanted to reach as many football fans as possible, creating a buzz on social media with a limited budget and on a very short deadline.

Our campaign centered around asking influencers to out-predict Ian Wright, using the hashtag #WrightOrWrong to brand the conversation, enable effective monitoring, and drive further engagement.

Results

  • Earned Media on Twitter Reached 60k Targeted Followers
  • Earned Media on Facebook Reached 60k Targeted Fans
  • A Total Reach of 120,000 targeted football fans from our content placement and outreach
  • In Total, the campaign was featured in 84 blog posts from 15 unique, dedicated blogs with an overall reach of 32 million impressions

Render Positive engaged in a blogger outreach campaign for Absolute Radio’s EURO 2012 Rock ‘N’ Roll Football show which stars Ian Wright, Russ Williams, and Jim Proudfoot. With Render Positive’s help we managed to activate and amplify awareness of the #wrightorwrong campaign. They proactively built up relationships with key football bloggers to promote our campaign, resulting in positive PR coverage on blogs that contained links back to our site as well as extensive social media activity. What Render Positive might lack in size, they make up for in passion, hard work, and plenty of chutzpah. It was a pleasure working with their team. You should definitely speak to them.

Laura Tannenbaum, Brand Marketing Manager, Absolute Radio


Here's how we did it!


1

Idea

We developed an idea that tied in with the radio show, persuading people to use the #WrightOrWrong hashtag to promote their predictions – and the show along with it.



2

Researching Key Infuencers

We researched all of the top football blogs and prioritised them by influence factors. We also researched London based blogs as these were an audience that Absolute Radio wanted to reach.



3

Seeding

We charmed as many of the Football and London bloggers as possible into promoting our campaign – absolutely free of charge!

Due to the love of the show and the fun aspect of the campaign, it worked fantastically.


Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…