Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Event of the Week: Behind the Scenes Tour of the Press Association


By Laila | 22nd Oct 2015 | Posted in Events

Thanks to PR Newswire, I was invited for a behind the scenes tour of the Press Association (PA) last week.

Before we were shown around the historical national news agency, there was a presentation by ex-editor Jonathan Grun, who is often referred to as “one of journalism’s nice guys”. A jolly and intelligent man, he retired this year after 36 years with the agency and is now emeritus editor. He provided a brief history of the PA, along with some anecdotes from his time working here. When reflecting on his time working here, he said, it felt as though he’d worked for several different companies as the PA had undergone such massive changes throughout the years and has consistently strived to grow and stay relevant throughout the years – especially in an age where breaking news isn’t constricted to the news wire.

Next came an interesting talk on the future of the PA with regards to Google News, Apple News, various other digital news platforms, and the continuing rise of social media for breaking news stories; keeping the Press Association on their toes more so now than ever. They are constantly thinking of inventive ways to stay relevant, from using their Twitter to engage with journalists to creating graphics for journalists to use to tell stories.

The Press Association

Finally – what we’d all been waiting for – the office tour. We were introduced to the new editor, Teilo Colley. He explained how the newsroom worked and how the wire was still the journalists and news publications go-to source. As we were there, the shots of Boris Johnson taking out the small child while playing Rugby in Japan had broken and I was told the images had been bought by some huge publications, including the BBC and Sky News. He also shared with us that is was their political journalist who took the shots, highlighting that years ago, a political journalist would not have been responsible for images and now journalists have to be able to do it all.

He spoke of the “tight-knit” relationship the PA has with the British government and the monarchy, which means they are first with the news stories and photographs before anyone else. I pointed out, it must be difficult to be an “independent” and “unbiased” news agency when they are in the bosom of the hierarchy, to which Tori explained that this did not come into play when writing a story…

All in all, as a PR and a super nosy individual, I had a fun and insightful day.  Just being in the hustle and bustle of the office for twenty minutes and watching the journalists working in their own environment gave me a valuable glimpse into how one of the world’s biggest and most important news agencies works.

Sign up now!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…