Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Three Anti-New Years Resolutions


By Han | 21st Jan 2013 | Posted in Productivity

I don’t like the idea of new years resolutions. You’re already dealing with short days, cold weather, and the post-Christmas slump; why throw in an attempt to devote what little energy you have left to cultivating difficult habits?

That said, there’s nothing more uplifting than noticing the small victories. So, I’ve found myself taking a backwards approach to resolutions: I note any good habits (big or small) that I’ve picked up recently, categorise them under “New Years Resolutions”, and instantly feel buoyed by the good company I am in of fellow resolvers who are trying to make much bigger changes (and complaining about it already.)

So, here are my top three habits-turned-resolutions for 2013:

1. Keep a work journal

As a refreshing antidote to the utilitarian week-to-view, spiral-bound affair that is my diary, firm stalwart of my desk that it is, the journal is a much more svelte and beautiful thing. A6, brown, and feint ruled, in it I note down the date and every day jot down tasks I’ve done as I complete them.

My work journal (with googley eyes)

There are two instant benefits to this:

The first is that just the act of writing stuff down makes you a whole lot more likely to remember it, which is a huge advantage to tasks which are ongoing over a number of days. Noting progress makes it much easier to come back to another day without feeling lost, and even if you do then having a summary of where you got to earlier in the week is extremely helpful.

The second benefit is again in the small victories: looking at a bunch of stuff you’ve done that day written down on a page is much more satisfying than looking at a list of scribbled out items.

2. Set the alarm for 6:30am every day (and get to bed by 11pm)

After many years of late nights and groggy mornings, desperately trying to deny the fact that I really am a morning person, I have finally managed to make this one stick recently. As a work-from-home type I could happily sleep in late if it suited me better. But the point is that it doesn’t, and starting work at 7am after 7.5 hours sleep is the biggest thing I’ve done to feel more awake in general and better able to make use of the day.

Discovering when you’re most productive, and fitting everything around it as far as possible, is invaluable. The added bonus is that keeping a regular schedule means much better sleep on the whole (I am a big fan of sleep!).

3. Use a spark file

This is an idea I first came across in Hacker News, and you can read Steven Johnson’s original post on it here. The idea is that you keep a file somewhere – personally I use Evernote but anything similar will do – and in it goes all of your uncensored ideas as and when they come to you.

Because they’re all in one place, this file quickly becomes fairly substantial, but the key point is that you look through it properly every month or two. This allows you to see points you may have repeated, ideas which relate to other points, and so on.

Personally, just the fact that I have one place to offload all the miscellaneous stuff is a great feeling: it’s nice to be able to brain-dump somewhere and do something¬†about an idea without having to give any more thought to it.

Sign up now!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…