Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Using Technology To Keep Positive Habits


By Jon | 24th Jan 2013 | Posted in Productivity

I weirdly accidentally started my New Year’s Resolutions in November last year after realising I’d let myself go. Stress had taken hold and I’d really overdone too many bad habits. I’ve always had a problem with habit momentum. I’m impatient. For things like taking a multivitamin, I’m fine. That’s instant. However, losing weight takes months. I get annoyed if I don’t see immediate results or reach a plateau, I slip back into my bad habits as the good ones dissipate.

Lift-1

However, this time around it feels different. I’ve managed to find a way to overcome my former issues through being overly merticulous and discovering “keystone habits”. These are habits that assist in the development of other habits. For example, if someone takes up running, they are likely to also begin to eat more healthily. This is what my favourite app ‘Lift‘ is all about. It allows you to ‘check in’ with good habits; anything from ‘Take Multivitamin’ to ‘Stop and Enjoy Life’. As you begin to do the smaller habits, you see the bigger ones and begin to do those. I now have around 12 positive habits I do daily – and as a result, I’m eating better, I’ve lost 21lbs and I’m in a much more positive and productive mood.

Free Calorie Counter, Diet & Exercise Journal | MyFitnessPal.com

The second app I use is called MyFitnessPal, where you can log all of your calories and exercise for the day. Luckily, it seems to have pretty much every brand and food on the planet; as more people use the service, the more ‘custom’ foods get added. Even my ostrich burgers from last week were included in their database. It allows you to monitor progress over time, set goals – and see pretty graphs seeing how well you’ve done. It’s become a habit of mine since adding it to Lift, the app mentioned above.

fuel.png

Finally, I have a Nike Fuelband. A wonderfully engineered device that Apple would be proud of. It looks pretty damn cool – and tracks all of your activity; whether it be boxing or running and converts it into ‘Nike Fuel’ points. You set a daily goal you need to hit. The aim is to keep your streak of hitting your goal going as long as possible. The biggest benefit if you get to compete against your friends on Facebook and Twitter. This is particularly motivating for someone of my competitive disposition.

These three  things have drastically changed my life. They are relatively simple applications that work with both behavioural economics and positive psychology; both fascinating topics. I first learnt about the former after watching “Lessons from an ad man” by Rory Sutherland at TED. I highly recommend you check it out. For an introduction to the latter, I recommend “The Happiness Advantage” by  Shawn Achor. The book that “Lift” is based on is called “The Power of Habit” by Charles Duhigg. Enjoy!

Sign up to our mailing list!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.

We hate spam! We promise never to share or sell any of your personal information.



One Response to “Using Technology To Keep Positive Habits”

  1. Kassie says:

    Aw, this was an exceptionally nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to create a really good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

Call us on 020 7622 1079 , email hello@renderpositive.com
or take advantage of a FREE brainstorm session!

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157



Stalk us on social…