Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Quickies: How to SEO your Instagram Hashtags


By Bree | 26th Jan 2016 | Posted in Quickies

We’ve created a series of bite-sized blog posts just long enough to give you the downlow on all kinds of digital wizardry, because we love sharing our knowledge and know-how. Get tips for improving your social media efforts, discover powerful PR tricks, and learn all kinds of hacks to make your work life easier. Here is our super quick tip of the week.

What?

When you post an image to Instagram you can add up to 30 hashtags in your description. You can use these hashtags to let more people see your content. Many people only try to add five as they don’t want to overwhelm their audience with a wall of hashtags.

Why?

By using a couple of different sites, you can leverage your hashtag game and reach many more people – and you won’t have to use all 30 hashtags to get seen. It’s all about quality hashtag reach over quantity.

How?

The most simple way is to use http://tagsforlikes.com/ to track the most popular hashtags. However, by using these hashtags, you are in danger of your post getting lost among the rest.

So, the next step is to use http://websta.me/search to find related hashtags that may not be quite so popular. You can use a browser extension to get these into a spreadsheet really quickly – we use Scraper for Chrome, but there are similar solutions for Firefox too.

  1. Install the Scraper extension for Chrome.
  2. Search http://websta.me/search for your popular hashtag – such as “fashion”.
  3. Highlighting the first hashtag, right click and choose “scrape similar”. Copy to clipboard and paste into a spreadsheet or export to a google doc.
  4. Paste the numbers next to the hashtags column. Now you have two columns with search volumes of hashtags.
  5. Choosing the B column, right click and scroll to “sort sheet z-a” and the sheet will now be in highest search order. Feel free to highlight competitors names or key hashtags you’d like to rank for!

Now, you can choose some of these relevant but less well-used hashtags in your posts.

Related Resources

Sign up now!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…