Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Quickies: Compressing your Image Files


By Han | 10th Nov 2015 | Posted in Quickies

We’ve created a series of bite-sized blog posts just long enough to give you the downlow on all kinds of digital wizardry, because we love sharing our knowledge and know-how. Get tips for improving your social media efforts, discover powerful PR tricks, and learn all kinds of hacks to make your work life easier. Here is our super quick tip of the week.

What?

Image files, by default, contain a lot of extra information that isn’t strictly necessary if you just want to publish an infographic or illustration on to your site. This extra information bloats the file size which is never a good thing. Compression services allow you to strip out the unnecessary kilobytes, so that your image file size is as small as possible without compromising on the quality of the image.

Why?

Smaller file sizes mean a faster site! Optimising your page load times is great for everyone, and especially mobile viewers who might be on slower networks or have data caps. Compressing your images down to the smallest file sizes possible is often the quickest way to make big gains here, so it’s a great thing to get into the habit of doing.

How?

There are a few online services that will compress your images for you. I have used both tinyjpg.com and compressjpeg.com; both will accept multiple jpg and png files at once, although I tend to use the latter more often as it will also compress pdfs. Whichever you choose, it’s as simple as choosing your image files for upload, waiting a minute or two, and then downloading the compressed versions.

Related Resources

Sign up now!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…