Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Quickies: How to Use Emoji on Desktop Web (Without Copy and Paste)


By Laila | 29th Mar 2016 | Posted in Quickies

We’ve created a series of bite-sized blog posts just long enough to give you the downlow on all kinds of digital wizardry, because we love sharing our knowledge and know-how. Get tips for improving your social media efforts, discover powerful PR tricks, and learn all kinds of hacks to make your work life easier. Here is our super quick tip of the week.

What?

Ever wondered how you go about writing emoji quickly and easily on desktop web?

I mostly copy and paste emoji from sites such as getemoji.com or iemoji.com, but there is an easier way for both Mac and Windows users.

Why?

Emojis are symbols used to convey feelings (like emoticons or smileys). They are popular on social media and often get more engagement/likes on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter. With bigger brands embracing them, using symbols can be key to social media marketing, especially as an estimated 12,500 emojis are tweeted every minute.

You could buy a full-size IRL emoji keyboard like the one above, but that would be pretty pointless…

How?

  • Open a text field on a social media platform such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram replies
  • Press command and control and space together on Mac to bring up the emoji characters panel (using OS X 10.8 or later)
  • On Windows computers, go to the task bar > toolbar > touch keyboard, and choose the smiley key

Unfortunately, the trick is only compatible with certain browsers according to the operating system you are running.

Related Resources

Sign up now!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…