Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Quickies: Mentioning a Brand on Facebook


By Tess | 4th Jan 2016 | Posted in Quickies

We’ve created a series of bite-sized blog posts just long enough to give you the downlow on all kinds of digital wizardry, because we love sharing our knowledge and know-how. Get tips for improving your social media efforts, discover powerful PR tricks, and learn all kinds of hacks to make your work life easier. Here is our super quick tip of the week.

What?

In the same way as tagging a private person on Facebook is possible, so too can users mention a brand or Facebook Page. When you mention a brand, Page or group in a post on Facebook, a link is created.

Here is an example post, where Bleacher Report mention James Harden and Dwight Howard:

Mentioning a Brand on Facebook

 

Note James Harden and Dwight Howard are in blue, indicating links to their Facebook Pages:

Tag a Brand on Facebook

Why?

Both private users and brands or pages can mention other brands or pages on Facebook. This is particularly useful for brands wanting to amplify the reach of their posts. The people that see the link that’s created depends on the person’s or Page’s privacy settings. With public settings, the post may appear in the feed of a user who likes the page that’s being tagged.

Facebook’s example was the sports blog Bleacher Report tagging Houston Rockets players James Harden and Dwight Howard in a post. In this particular case, the post may show up in the news feeds of users who follow or like Harden or Howard, even if they don’t follow or like Bleacher Report. In this way, Bleacher Report amplifies the reach of their post to a potential new audience.

How?

Mentioning a brand on Facebook is simple!

  • Type “@” followed by the brand or Page name
  • Select the name from the dropdown menu

Be wary of abusing this though: Facebook will not honour tags to a page whose following is unrelated to its own. This feature is designed to allow brands to gradually and organically grow their Facebook followings, but only to people predisposed to liking their Page.

Related Resources

Sign up now!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…