Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Quickies: How and When to Shorten a Link


By Tess | 20th Oct 2015 | Posted in Quickies

We’ve created a series of bite-sized blog posts just long enough to give you the downlow on all kinds of digital wizardry, because we love sharing our knowledge and know-how. Get tips for improving your social media efforts, discover powerful PR tricks, and learn all kinds of hacks to make your work life easier. Here is our super quick tip of the week.

What?

You’ve most likely come across shortened links every time you’ve used the internet. As their name suggests, they are an abbreviated version of a full URL. For instance, the full URL http://renderpositive.com/client-work/flexiskyline/ becomes http://j.mp/1LaCLKt. Any link can be shortened like this using a free online service.

Why?

Using shortened links makes a link appear neater. This is especially useful when including a link in a social media post or an email, as it helps to keep the message as simple as possible, and keep characters to a minimum.

Aesthetics aside, there are some very nifty features you get from using a link shortener. You’ll get insights into;

  • how many times a link is clicked; discover what type of content appeals best to your audience
  • when a link is clicked; telling you what time/day is optimal for you
  • where in the world a link is clicked; giving you insight into where your audience is
  • real-time data; get all these insights as they happen

ALL of this is useful for optimising future campaigns, and best of all it’s free!

How?

There are lots of link shortener tools you can use for free. The best known are probably Google’s goo.gl, and Bitly’s bit.ly.

To use Google’s link shortener, simply go to goo.gl (you don’t need to have a Google account, but if you do you can sign in). Enter the full URL, and click ‘Shorten URL’. You will then receive your shortened URL. If you click on ‘details’, you can then see real-time data on who’s clicking your link, where they are, etc.

Related Resources

Sign up now!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.



2 Responses to “Quickies: How and When to Shorten a Link”

  1. Fredric Leachman says:

    It’s really a nice and helpful piece of info.

    I’m glad that you just shared this useful info with us.

    Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Russell Gormanston says:

    Hey there, Ƴou Һave ɗone a fantastic job. I сertainly digg it ɑnd will personally recommend to my friends.
    ӏ am confident they’ll benefit from this site.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…