Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Quickies: How to Use Snapchat Filters


By Tess | 28th Jun 2016 | Posted in Quickies

We’ve created a series of bite-sized blog posts just long enough to give you the downlow on all kinds of digital wizardry, because we love sharing our knowledge and know-how. Get tips for improving your social media efforts, discover powerful PR tricks, and learn all kinds of hacks to make your work life easier. Here is our super quick tip of the week.

What?

snapchat filters

Similar to Instagram filters, Snapchat also lets users add filters to an image. In addition to the Instagram-esque colour filters, there are also Snapchat filters that add the time, temperature, and speed to Snaps.

Geofilters

Snapchat also offers Geofilters: filters that are only available in a specific place such as a city, festival, or sports event thanks to GPS and RFID technology. You can even design your own (unbranded) Geofilter, specify the area you want it displayed, and submit it to Snapchat!

Community Geofilters

Feeling creative? Design and submit a free Community Geofilter for your city, university, or other public location. If approved, Snapchatters nearby will be able to use your Geofilter to say where they are!

On-Demand Geofilters

Both individuals and businesses can buy On-Demand Geofilters. Perfect for weddings, events, etc, these filters last for a limited time – from 30 minutes to 30 days. As per other Geofilters, they work on a specified location.

Sponsored Filters

For brands wanting to take advantage of Snapchat filters, so-called sponsored filters are available. Their fairly hefty price tags tend to make the the reserve of large high street chains and high value events such as film premiers.

Why?

Snapchat filters

Adding filters is a fun way to add information and creativity to your Snaps. Marketers often use the same one or two filters to create a consistent feel to their Snaps, helping to build a sense of familiarity and brand.

The case creating and using branded filters, as you can see from the image above, is clear. If your target audience has a strong presence on Snapchat, then it may be worth the investment.

How?

Make sure filters are enabled by doing the following:

  1. On your profile screen, tap the gear icon in the top right corner
  2. Under ‘Additional Services’, tap ‘Manage’
  3. Swipe right on ‘Filters’ to toggle on

To use filters on your Snaps, simply take a Snap and then swipe right or left on the preview screen to add colored filters, the current time, local weather, speed overlays, or Geofilters.

To add more than one filter:

  1. After adding your first filter, hold the screen with one finger
  2. Swipe the screen with another
  3. Your original filter will remain while you scroll through other filters
  4. Repeat as necessary!

Related Resources

Sign up now!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…