Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Quickies: How to Search Within a Website Using Google


By Han | 1st Dec 2015 | Posted in Quickies

We’ve created a series of bite-sized blog posts just long enough to give you the downlow on all kinds of digital wizardry, because we love sharing our knowledge and know-how. Get tips for improving your social media efforts, discover powerful PR tricks, and learn all kinds of hacks to make your work life easier. Here is our super quick tip of the week.

What?

Google allows you to do quite a bit more than just use its ‘default settings’ to search the whole of the web. You can tailor your searches to filter your results more carefully: for instance, if you only want to search one particular website – or filter it out of your results completely.

Why?

Perhaps the default Google results you’re getting for a query are too broad, or maybe the search function on a large site isn’t working as well as it should. Narrowing down Google’s results to only search within one specific site could be the answer.

Alternatively, perhaps you want to remove a site altogether from your Google results. This can be helpful if Amazon is dominating the results for a shopping term, but you want to see the alternatives. Or if you want to read recent news about a popular topic, but you want to filter out one particularly prolific publisher.

How?

  • To search within one particular site, simply add site:example.com to the end of your query. As in the illustrated example above, you might enter, ‘nicolas cage site:imdb.com’ to see everything that IMDb has to say about Nicolas Cage.
  • To filter a site out of your search, prepend a hyphen before the extra bit: so ‘nicolas cage -site:imdb.com’ will return results from all over the web, except for those on IMDb.
  • You can add more sites to the list! So searching for ‘nicolas cage site:imdb.com OR site:wikipedia.org’ will show results from IMDb or Wikipedia, while searching for ‘nicolas cage -site:imdb.com AND -site:wikipedia.org’ will show results with both IMDb and Wikipedia filtered out.
  • Note that we’ve removed the www and the https:// from the URLs that we’ve used. This is so that all subdomains will be searched too – such as secure.imdb.com. If you’re not sure what this means, then don’t worry – just remember that a good rule of thumb is to just use the last part of the URL, like renderpositive.com or bbc.co.uk. You can always experiment to see what works best for you.

Related Resources

Sign up now!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.



One Response to “Quickies: How to Search Within a Website Using Google”

  1. […] This method uses a search operator, which are easy to use and really handy for doing slightly more specific searches. We’ve talked about these before when doing a search within a site. […]



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan
James Hackney
Stuart Lawrence

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157
James Hackney Client Services Manager james@renderpositive.com
07725 209 820
Stuart Lawrence Chief Technical Officer stuart@renderpositive.com
07725 209 819



Stalk us on social…