Render Positive
Get in touch

Menu

Render Positive

Four Ways Brands can Appeal to Millennials on Social Media


By Han | 23rd Dec 2013 | Posted in Social Media

Millennials, also known as Generation Y, are broadly defined as those born from the early ’80s to the early ’00s. Three quarters of the tech-savvy 16-24 year-old subset spend longer than ten hours online every week, and almost all use Facebook (97%), which is the most popular network for brand interaction for the vast majority.

But what do they expect from brands on social media? Here are some dos and don’ts.

mosaic

1Millennials above all want two things from brands on social media: they want to save money, and they want to be entertained. Reward your fans and followers with exclusive offers, promotions, and competitions.

Graph: why do users follow brands on social media?

Thumbs Up28% of facebook users surveyed said that they used the platform specifically for offers and discounts.
Thumbs Up53% said that they used facebook as a source of entertainment.
Budweiser campaign example

2Err on the side of not posting “enough”. Use analytics to identify which posts are the most popular, and only post the really good stuff. Millennials like brands that they know enough about to be able to identify with, but they don’t want to be bombarded.

What makes a brand appealing or annoying on social media?

twitter-logoMillennials don’t like being told what to talk about. Branded hashtags can seem at best desperate and at worst annoying. Instead, let users develop their own, and reward the best with a retweet.
full-width-image-2

3Don’t force users to sign in with Facebook Connect in order to use your website or app. Respect your audience’s right to privacy.

43% are concerned about the security of their personal details.68% don’t like websites or apps using Facebook Connect to share account details.

thumbs-downEcommerce sites take note: only 4% would be happy using their Facebook account to buy online.
thumbs-down38% would avoid using the Facebook Connect method to log in completely.
full-width-image-3

4Make sure that you are always accessible and responsive, provide enough of the information that users may want to know, and answer any questions and complaints quickly.

Over 50% have used social media to inform a purchase.
41% of those aged 16-19 always compare prices online first. This figure rises to 52% for 20-24 year-olds.
49% have used social media to find information about a brand, or to make a complaint.
Users spend on average 21% more time with brands who provide excellent customer service (according to a 2012 survey conducted by American Express.)

Unless otherwise specified, all figures have been taken from the Voxburner Social Media and the New Generation Autumn/Winter 2013 survey of 16-24 year-olds. Additional information has come from the following sources:
entrepreneur.com/article/229815
voxburner.com/publications/270-hashtags-and-tv-shows-is-it-working

Images taken from the following brands’ Facebook pages:
Innocent, Lomography, Threadless, Old Spice, Oreo, Nintendo, Budweiser, Lego, Red Bull.

Feel free to embed the slideshow below on your own blog. And let us know what you think in the comments – have you discovered any tips that we missed out?

Sign up to our mailing list!

Get more great stuff delivered fresh to your inbox.

We hate spam! We promise never to share or sell any of your personal information.



One Response to “Four Ways Brands can Appeal to Millennials on Social Media”

  1. Chris says:

    Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It’s always helpful to read content from other
    authors and practice something from other sites.



Leave a Reply

Want to know what we could achieve for you?

Call us on 020 7622 1079 , email hello@renderpositive.com
or take advantage of a FREE brainstorm session!

View all resources Useful stuff


Meet the team

Jon Buchan
Hannah Brown
Jenny Longmuir
Tess Bowles
Lee Buchan
Asher Baker
Bree Van Zyl
Sam Reynolds
Aida Staskeviciute
Laura Reddington
Dipak Hemraj
Jess Collett
Gemma MacNaught
Laila Khan
Gary Buchan

Jon Buchan Chief Executive Officer jon@renderpositive.com
07949 283 785
Hannah Brown Creative Yet Technical Manager hannah@renderpositive.com
07453 779 030
Jenny Longmuir Content Marketing Editor jenny@renderpositive.com
Tess Bowles Social Media & Content Marketing Manager tess@renderpositive.com
Lee Buchan SEO and Social Media Executive lee@renderpositive.com
Asher Baker SEO & PPC Manager (and Lord) asher@renderpositive.com
07525 744 178
Bree Van Zyl Video Productionista briarley.vanzyl@renderpositive.com
Sam Reynolds Copywriter sam@renderpositive.com
Aida Staskeviciute Graphic Designer aida@renderpositive.com
Laura Reddington Copywriter laura.reddington@renderpositive.com
Dipak Hemraj All Rounder dipak@renderpositive.com
Jess Collett Copywriter jess@renderpositive.com
Gemma MacNaught Head of UX and Conversion Rate Optimisation gemma@renderpositive.com
Laila Khan Head of PR laila@renderpositive.com
Gary Buchan Managing Director gary@renderpositive.com
07525 839 157



Stalk us on social…